android

eSIM compatibility check

October 27, 2026

OnePlus Nord 6 eSIM support: yes or no? (2026)

Does the OnePlus Nord 6 support eSIM? No. Model-by-model answer for the Nord 6, 15R, Nord 4, Nord CE5, OnePlus 16 and 8 Pro, from OnePlus spec pages.

Hand inserting a SIM card tray into a smartphone

Photo: Umair Pir β€” Pexels

No for the OnePlus Nord 6, Nord 4 and Nord CE5; only the US and Canadian versions of the OnePlus 15R; no for the OnePlus 8 and 8 Pro; and the OnePlus 16, so far sold only in China, has no eSIM on its Chinese spec sheet. That is what OnePlus's own spec pages said when we read them on 27 October 2026. For the Nord 6, OnePlus is unusually explicit: its Indian spec page and its global spec page both carry the line "eSIM: No".

The pattern is simple once you see it. In 2026, eSIM on OnePlus is a feature of the numbered flagships (OnePlus 15, OnePlus 13, OnePlus 12 outside India), not of the Nord range. The 15R sits in between: the same phone lists eSIM on OnePlus's US and Canadian sites and does not on its UK, European, global and Indian sites. This page gives the answer for each model, how to tell which version you hold, and what to do if your phone has no eSIM. For the full list of OnePlus phones that do have eSIM, see our OnePlus models page and the complete OnePlus model list.

Key takeaways

  • No Nord phone has eSIM: the Nord 6, Nord 5 and Nord CE6 spec pages say "eSIM: No", and the Nord 4, Nord CE5, Nord CE4 and CE4 Lite list only nano-SIM slots.
  • The OnePlus 15R has eSIM only in its US and Canadian version (model CPH2771); OnePlus's UK, European, global and Indian 15R pages list two nano-SIM slots and no eSIM.
  • The OnePlus 16 exists only in China on 27 October 2026, and its Chinese spec sheet lists two nano-SIMs, no eSIM. The OnePlus 8 and 8 Pro never had eSIM.

Quick answer: eSIM on each OnePlus model

Each row gives OnePlus's answer, the versions it applies to and the OnePlus page where it says so. "No eSIM line" means the spec page lists the SIM slots and says nothing about eSIM, while the same section on an eSIM phone such as the OnePlus 15 reads "eSIM: Supported".

ModeleSIMWhich versions / regionsModel numbersSource
OnePlus Nord 6NoIndia, Mexico and global versions: "eSIM: No", dual nano-SIM. No UK, EU or US version on oneplus.comOnePlus does not state itoneplus.in, global
OnePlus 15RPartialUS and Canada: "eSIM: Supported". UK, Germany, France, global, India: dual nano-SIM, no eSIM lineCPH2771 (US/Canada); others not statedUS, Canada, UK, India
OnePlus Nord 4NoUK, Germany, global, India: "Dual nano-SIM slot", no eSIM lineOnePlus does not state itUK, India
OnePlus Nord CE5NoUK, Germany, France, global, India: hybrid dual nano-SIM slot, no eSIM lineOnePlus does not state itUK, India
OnePlus 16No (China)China only so far: "Nano-SIM, Nano-USIM", no eSIMOnePlus does not state itoneplus.com/cn
OnePlus 8 / 8 ProNoAll versions: dual nano-SIM; T-Mobile OnePlus 8: single nano-SIMOnePlus does not state it8 (US), 8 Pro (US)
Nord 5, Nord CE6No"eSIM: No" on every regional pageOnePlus does not state itNord 5, Nord CE6
Nord CE4, Nord CE4 LiteNoHybrid dual nano-SIM slot, no eSIM lineOnePlus does not state itCE4, CE4 Lite

For comparison, the OnePlus 15 lists "eSIM: Supported" on its UK, US and Indian pages alike. If eSIM matters to you, that is the OnePlus to look at.

Does the OnePlus Nord 6 support eSIM?

No. The OnePlus Nord 6 has two nano-SIM slots and no eSIM. OnePlus's Indian spec page lists, under Connectivity: "eSIM: No", then "Dual SIM: Yes (with Dual SIM Dual Active support)", and under Ports: "Dual nano-SIM slot". The global spec page, which covers the markets OnePlus serves from its international site, says exactly the same, and so does the Mexican page.

We also looked for a European or North American Nord 6. On 27 October 2026, the Nord 6 spec addresses on OnePlus's UK, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, US and Canadian sites returned "page not found". So there is no version of the Nord 6 sold by OnePlus with a different SIM setup: whether yours comes from India, Mexico or another market, or was imported to Europe, it has no eSIM.

What the two nano-SIM slots do give you is real dual SIM: "Dual SIM Dual Active" means both lines can be active at the same time. For travel, that means you can keep your home SIM in slot 1 and put a local prepaid SIM in slot 2. What you cannot do is install a travel eSIM bought online: there is no eSIM chip to receive it, and no setting or update will add one. Some third-party sites list "eSIM: Yes" for this phone; OnePlus's own pages contradict them.

Does the OnePlus 15R support eSIM? Only in the US and Canada

Only the North American version. OnePlus's US spec page and Canadian spec page for the OnePlus 15R both list "eSIM: Supported" next to a "Dual nano-SIM slot", and both name the model number CPH2771 in their hearing-aid compatibility note.

The UK page, the German and French pages, the global page and the Indian page for the same phone have no eSIM line at all: they list only the dual nano-SIM slot. That absence is meaningful here, because the same regional pages for the OnePlus 15 do show "eSIM: Supported" in the same place. OnePlus therefore describes two different 15R configurations, and only the US/Canadian one has eSIM.

In practice:

  • Bought in the US or Canada (model CPH2771): you can use an eSIM alongside the nano-SIM slots. OnePlus does not state how many eSIM profiles the phone stores or how many lines can be active at once.
  • Bought in the UK, the EU or India: OnePlus's pages describe a dual nano-SIM phone. Check your unit before buying an eSIM plan (see how to tell which version you have, below).
  • A US unit used in Europe: the eSIM hardware travels with the phone, so a travel eSIM can be installed if the phone is not carrier-locked.

Our device database already lists the 15R as "US and Canadian models only"; the OnePlus pages read on 27 October 2026 confirm it.

Does the OnePlus Nord 4 support eSIM?

No. The OnePlus Nord 4 spec pages list two nano-SIM slots and no eSIM in every region we checked. The UK page says "Dual SIM: Yes (Dual nano-SIM slot)" and, under Ports, "Dual nano-SIM slot". The German page says the same ("Ja (zwei Nano-SIM-SteckplΓ€tze)"), as does the global page. The Indian page adds that both SIMs can be active at once ("with Dual SIM Dual Active support") and that "Feature availability may vary due to compatibility with local carriers", but still mentions no eSIM.

The Nord 4 is a 2024 phone. Its spec page predates the explicit "eSIM: No" line that OnePlus added on later Nords, which is why you will not find the word eSIM on it at all. That silence does not hide a regional eSIM version: no OnePlus page for the Nord 4 describes one.

Does the OnePlus Nord CE5 support eSIM?

No. OnePlus lists the Nord CE5 with "SIM: Yes (Dual nano-SIM slot)" and, under Ports, a "Hybrid Slot (Dual Nano-SIM/One Nano-SIM & one MicroSD, up to 1TB)". That wording is the same on the UK, German, French, global and Indian pages, and none of them mentions eSIM.

"Hybrid slot" has a practical consequence: the second nano-SIM and the microSD card share one space in the tray. If you add a memory card, you are down to one SIM. Abroad, that means choosing between your home SIM and a local SIM, unless you leave the memory card at home. An eSIM would have avoided the dilemma; the CE5 does not have one.

Does the OnePlus 16 support eSIM?

Not in the only version that exists today. On 27 October 2026, the OnePlus 16 has a spec page on OnePlus China only. Its SIM type line reads "Nano-SIM 卑,Nano-USIM 卑" (two nano-SIM cards), its dual-SIM notes describe two physical cards, and the page does not mention eSIM anywhere.

There is no OnePlus 16 page yet on OnePlus's US, UK, global or Indian sites, so OnePlus has published nothing about the SIM setup of an international version. Chinese versions of OnePlus flagships have used two nano-SIMs before (the Chinese OnePlus 15 page also says "双 Nano SIM", dual nano-SIM) while the international OnePlus 15 has eSIM. So the Chinese spec is not a verdict on a future European or US model. We will update this page once OnePlus publishes one. Until then, a OnePlus 16 imported from China should be treated as a phone without eSIM.

Do the OnePlus 8 and 8 Pro support eSIM?

No. OnePlus's spec pages for the OnePlus 8 and the OnePlus 8 Pro list a "Dual nano-SIM slot" and no eSIM, in the US, UK (8 Pro UK page) and global editions. The US OnePlus 8 page adds a carrier exception: "*T-Mobile: Single Nano SIM Slot", so the T-Mobile version has just one SIM slot.

These 2020 phones came before OnePlus put eSIM in its flagships. If you still use one and want a travel eSIM, the honest answer is that it will not work: use a local nano-SIM instead, or a pocket Wi-Fi router.

Nord 5, Nord CE4, CE4 Lite and Nord CE6: eSIM?

None of the other recent Nord phones has eSIM either. Here is what OnePlus says:

  • Nord 5: "eSIM: No" on the UK, German, French, global and Indian pages, with "Dual SIM Dual Active" over two nano-SIM slots.
  • Nord CE6: "eSIM: No" on the global and Indian pages.
  • Nord CE4: the Indian page lists "SIM: Yes (Dual nano-SIM slot)" and a hybrid slot shared with microSD; no eSIM.
  • Nord CE4 Lite 5G: the UK, global and Indian pages list "Dual SIM: Yes (Dual nano-SIM slot)" and a hybrid slot (microSD up to 2TB); no eSIM.

Across the Nord range, then, the answer is consistent: two physical SIMs, sometimes sharing space with a memory card, and no eSIM. Our guide to eSIM on budget Android phones lists mid-range models from other brands that do have it, and the Nothing phones page covers OnePlus's closest rival.

How to tell which version you have, and what to do without eSIM

The question only really matters for the 15R, the one model whose answer depends on where it was sold. Three checks, from quickest to surest:

  1. Look at where it came from. A 15R bought from OnePlus US, OnePlus Canada or a North American carrier is the eSIM version; one bought in the UK, the EU or India is, according to OnePlus, a dual nano-SIM phone.
  2. Read the model number. It appears in the About section of the phone's Settings and on the box label. OnePlus names CPH2771 for the US and Canadian 15R; it does not publish the numbers of the other versions, so any other number means "check further" rather than "no".
  3. Look for an EID. A phone with an eSIM chip has a 32-digit EID. If the phone shows none, it has no eSIM. Our EID guide explains where to find it, and the free eSIM Check app reads the chip directly.

If the "Add eSIM" option is missing on a phone that should have it, our missing eSIM option guide goes through the causes (carrier lock, software, regional variant). OnePlus does not publish an official menu path for adding an eSIM on OxygenOS, so we do not give one here.

No eSIM on your Nord? Every Nord listed above has two nano-SIM slots, which is the next best thing. Keep your own SIM in one slot and buy a local prepaid SIM at the airport or in town for the other: with "Dual SIM Dual Active" you still receive calls and texts on your home number. Our guide on keeping your number while travelling explains the settings to watch so you are not charged roaming on the wrong line. And if you are choosing your next phone partly for travel, check our list of eSIM-compatible devices first.

How we checked

On 27 October 2026 we read the spec page of each model on OnePlus's own sites: oneplus.com in its US, Canadian, UK, German, French, global and Chinese editions, and oneplus.in for India. The spec tables load in the browser, but the data is part of the page OnePlus serves; we read it directly, with no bot check involved and nothing bypassed. Every claim links to the OnePlus page it comes from.

Where a spec page says "eSIM: No" we report a clear no. Where it lists only nano-SIM slots and no eSIM line, we compared it with a sibling phone's page of the same generation: the OnePlus 15, which has eSIM, shows "eSIM: Supported" in the same section in every region. Model numbers are given only where OnePlus names them (CPH2771 for the US and Canadian 15R). Third-party spec sites that list eSIM for the Nord 6 or 15R in Europe were not used, because OnePlus's pages contradict them.

Phones and pages change: when OnePlus launches the OnePlus 16 outside China, or edits a spec page, we update this article and our device database.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the OnePlus Nord 6 support eSIM?expand_more
No. OnePlus's Indian and global spec pages for the Nord 6 say "eSIM: No": it has two nano-SIM slots with Dual SIM Dual Active. OnePlus sells no UK, EU or US version with a different SIM setup.
Does the OnePlus 15R support eSIM?expand_more
Only the US and Canadian version (model CPH2771), whose OnePlus spec pages list "eSIM: Supported". OnePlus's UK, European, global and Indian 15R pages list only two nano-SIM slots.
Do the OnePlus Nord 4 and Nord CE5 support eSIM?expand_more
No. OnePlus lists both with dual nano-SIM slots only (the CE5's second slot is shared with microSD) and no eSIM, in every region we checked on 27 October 2026.
Does the OnePlus 16 support eSIM?expand_more
The only version on sale on 27 October 2026 is the Chinese one, and its OnePlus China spec page lists two nano-SIM cards and no eSIM. OnePlus has not yet published specs for an international version.
Do the OnePlus 8 and 8 Pro support eSIM?expand_more
No. OnePlus's spec pages list a dual nano-SIM slot and no eSIM for both phones; the T-Mobile OnePlus 8 has a single nano-SIM slot.
Does any OnePlus Nord phone have eSIM?expand_more
No. The Nord 6, Nord 5 and Nord CE6 pages say "eSIM: No", and the Nord 4, Nord CE5, Nord CE4 and CE4 Lite list only nano-SIM slots. For eSIM on OnePlus, look at the OnePlus 15 or 13.

Check your own phone in seconds

The free eSIM Check app reads your device's real hardware capabilities β€” no guesswork.

Get it on Google Play

Related articles