October 27, 2026
Galaxy A eSIM: which A models have it (A12–A57)
Galaxy A eSIM, model by model: A57, A56, A55 yes; A37 and A36 not in India; A27, A17, A26, A16 North America only; A12 to A15 no. Checked on Samsung.

Photo: Andrey Matveev — Pexels
Short answer: the Galaxy A57, A56 and A55 have eSIM; the A37 and A36 too, except the Indian versions; the A35 and A54 only in Europe, North America and Korea (plus Japan for the A54); the A27, A17 5G, A26 and A16 5G only in the US and Canada; the A25 5G and A23 5G only in Japan; the A12, A13, A14 and A15 never; the XCover6 Pro only in North America. That is what Samsung's own eSIM device list says, cross-checked on 27 October 2026 against Samsung's spec sheets in fourteen countries.
The model name alone is not enough with the Galaxy A. A Galaxy A27 bought in London or Madrid has a nano-SIM slot and a microSD slot, while the same A27 sold in the US has eSIM. Below you get the full table, one section per model with the exact model numbers Samsung publishes, and a two-minute check to see which version you hold. For the Galaxy S and Z, see our complete Samsung Galaxy model list.
Key takeaways
- Yes everywhere Samsung sells them: Galaxy A57, A56, A55, XCover7 and XCover7 Pro. Yes except India: A37 (SM-A376E has no eSIM) and A36 (SM-A366E has none).
- Regional only: A35 (Europe, North America, Korea), A54 (same plus Japan), A27, A17 5G, A26, A16 5G and XCover6 Pro (North America only), A25 5G and A23 5G (Japan only). No eSIM at all: A12, A13, A14, A15, A18.
- Check your own phone: Settings > About phone shows the model number; if Settings > Connections > SIM manager offers Add eSIM, your unit has the chip.
Galaxy A eSIM: the complete table
Samsung publishes the same eSIM device list on its UK, Canadian, Indian and most European and Latin American sites. We added what Samsung's country spec pages show for each model number. Models released before 2026 are absent from Samsung's Hong Kong list, and only the A37 and A57 appear on the Taiwan list.
| Model | eSIM | Which versions / regions | Model numbers seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Galaxy A57 (2026) | Yes | Europe, Americas, Asia-Pacific, Japan, Taiwan | SM-A576B, SM-A576W (Canada), SM-A576Q (Japan) | Samsung UK spec |
| Galaxy A37 (2026) | Yes, not India | Europe, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Asia-Pacific, Japan, Taiwan | Yes: SM-A376B, SM-A376W. No: SM-A376E (India) | Samsung India spec |
| Galaxy A27 (2026) | North America only | US and Canada | No: SM-A276B (Europe, Mexico, Asia) | Samsung UK spec |
| Galaxy A17 5G (2025) | North America only | US and Canada | Yes: SM-A176W. No: SM-A176B | Samsung Canada spec |
| Galaxy A56 (2025) | Yes | On the global, US and Australian lists | SM-A566E (India, Mexico): yes | Samsung India spec |
| Galaxy A36 (2025) | Yes, not India | Europe, North America, Korea (global list); also Japan, Australia, Gulf | Yes: SM-A366B. No: SM-A366E (India) | Samsung Japan |
| Galaxy A26 (2025) | North America only | US and Canada | No: SM-A266B (Gulf) | Samsung US |
| Galaxy A16 5G (2024) | North America only | US and Canada | Samsung does not state it | Samsung Canada |
| Galaxy A55 (2024) | Yes | Global list, Japan, Australia | Samsung does not state it | Samsung Australia |
| Galaxy A35 (2024) | Partial | Europe, North America, Korea | Samsung does not state it | Samsung UK |
| Galaxy A25 5G / A23 5G | Japan only | Japanese models | Samsung does not state it | Samsung Japan |
| Galaxy A54 (2023) | Partial | Europe, North America, Korea, Japan | Samsung does not state it | Samsung UK |
| Galaxy A12, A13, A14, A15, A18, A33, A34, A52, A53 | No | Not on any Samsung eSIM list | A18 SM-A185F: nano-SIM only | Samsung US |
| Galaxy XCover7 / XCover7 Pro | Yes | Global and Australian lists | Samsung does not state it | Samsung Australia |
| Galaxy XCover6 Pro | North America only | US and Canada | Samsung does not state it | Samsung US |
Every Samsung list carries the same warning: “Depending on the country of origin, eSIM may not be supported even if your device is listed above.” The model number tells you the country of origin; the section “How to tell which version you have” below shows where to find it.
Galaxy A57: eSIM in every version we found
The Galaxy A57 is the easy case. It is on Samsung's global list with no regional note, and every country spec page we opened lists the same hardware. The UK page for the SM-A576B gives “Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM” and the slot types “SIM 1 + SIM 2 / SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM”. The same wording appears for the SM-A576B in India, Mexico, Brazil, the UAE, the Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and South Africa, and for the Canadian SM-A576W.
The Japanese SIM-free SM-A576Q is slightly different: Samsung Japan lists “Nano-SIM (4FF), eSIM” with “SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM”, so one nano-SIM plus eSIM, or two eSIMs. Samsung US names the A57 5G among its “Hybrid eSIM” devices (physical SIM plus eSIM), and Samsung Taiwan lists it too. The only Samsung list without it is Hong Kong's.
In practice: if you bought an A57 in Europe, Latin America or North America, you can use an eSIM, keep your nano-SIM, or run two eSIMs.
Galaxy A37: yes, except the Indian SM-A376E
Samsung's global list names the A37 without any restriction, and the Japanese and Taiwanese lists include it as well. The spec pages agree for the SM-A376B sold in the UK, Spain, Mexico, Brazil, the UAE, South Africa, Australia and South-East Asia, and for the Canadian SM-A376W: “Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM”, “SIM 1 + SIM 2 / SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM”.
The exception is India. Samsung India sells the SM-A376E, and its spec sheet says only “Nano-SIM (4FF)” and “SIM 1 + SIM 2”: two physical SIMs, no eSIM. If you bought your A37 second-hand or from an importer, check that the model number ends in B or W, not E.
Samsung US sells the A37 5G but its dual SIM page does not name it among the Hybrid eSIM devices; the US product page shows no SIM specification. Samsung's global list, which covers North America, includes the A37 without a restriction.
Galaxy A56 and A55: eSIM on Samsung's lists
Both are on Samsung's global list with no regional note. The A56 also appears on the Australian list and on Samsung US's Hybrid eSIM list. Unlike the A36 and A37, even the Indian SM-A566E has it: “Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM”, “SIM 1 + SIM 2 / SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM”. The Mexican SM-A566E shows the same (“SIM embebida”).
The A55 is listed by Samsung globally, in Japan (“A54 5G / A55 5G / A57 5G”) and in Australia. Samsung no longer has an A55 product page online in the countries we checked, so we cannot give model numbers: Samsung does not state them. Neither model is on the Hong Kong or Taiwan lists.
Galaxy A36, A35 and A54: Europe and North America yes, India no
Here Samsung's own pages disagree with each other. The global list says A36 (Only Europe, North America, Korea). Yet Samsung Japan lists “A36 5G”, Samsung Australia lists “Galaxy A36 5G” for Australian variants, and the UAE spec page for the SM-A366B shows “Embedded-SIM” and “Dual eSIM”. What is clear is India: the SM-A366E has “Nano-SIM (4FF)” only.
The A35 is “Only Europe, North America, Korea” on every Samsung list we read, and no country page contradicts it. The A54 is “Only Europe, North America, Korea, Japan”, and Samsung Japan lists the “A54 5G”. Samsung US names the A54 5G, A35 5G and A36 5G as Hybrid eSIM devices.
So an A36, A35 or A54 bought in Spain, France, Germany, the UK, the US or Canada should have eSIM. One bought in India, Latin America, Africa or most of Asia may not: check the menu before buying an eSIM plan.
Galaxy A16, A17, A26 and A27: US and Canada only
This is the trap behind most “my Galaxy A has no eSIM option” questions. Samsung's list marks the A27, A17 5G, A26 and A16 5G “Only North America”. The versions sold elsewhere are different hardware:
- A27: the SM-A276B sold in the UK, Spain, France, Germany, Mexico, Brazil, Turkey, Australia and South-East Asia has “Nano-SIM (4FF)” and a hybrid SIM/microSD slot.
- A17 5G: the Canadian SM-A176W lists “Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM”; the SM-A176B sold in Europe, Brazil, the Gulf and Asia lists nano-SIM only. The 4G Galaxy A17 (SM-A175F) has no eSIM anywhere.
- A26: the SM-A266B sold in the Gulf has nano-SIM only; Samsung US lists the A26 5G as Hybrid eSIM.
- A16 5G: on the US and Canadian lists only.
Note that Mexico counts as North America on a map but not here: Samsung Mexico sells the nano-SIM-only SM-A276B. And the new Galaxy A18 (SM-A185F) has no eSIM either. If you hold a European A16, A17, A26 or A27, our guide to the missing Add eSIM option explains your options.
Galaxy A12, A13, A14, A15, A23 and A25
The A12, A13, A14 and A15 do not appear on any Samsung eSIM list in any country we checked. Samsung US goes further and lists them under “Unlocked Dual Physical SIM devices”: “Galaxy A14 5G, A15 5G…”, “Galaxy A03, A13 LTE, A13 5G and A53 5G”, “Galaxy A02, A12, A32 5G, A42 5G and A52 5G”. These phones take two nano-SIMs (in unlocked versions), not an eSIM. The same goes for the A33, A34, A52, A52s and A53: none is on a Samsung eSIM list.
The A23 5G and A25 5G are a special case: Samsung marks both “Only Japan”, and Samsung Japan lists “A23 5G / A25 5G”. A European or Latin American A25 has no eSIM. Samsung US is contradictory: its page names the A25 5G both as a Hybrid eSIM device and as a Dual Physical SIM device, so check a US unit in Settings rather than trusting either line.
If your phone is one of these, an eSIM will not install. For travel, use a local nano-SIM, or see budget Android phones that do have eSIM.
Galaxy XCover6 Pro and XCover7: rugged phones
The rugged XCover line follows the same logic. The XCover7 and XCover7 Pro are on Samsung's global list without restriction, and on the Australian list (“XCover 7 / XCover 7 Pro”). The XCover6 Pro is “Only North America”; Samsung US lists it first among its Hybrid eSIM devices and notes that its SIM sits under the removable battery. A European XCover6 Pro therefore has no eSIM. Device-by-device details are on our Galaxy XCover page.
How to tell which version you have
- Read the model number. Go to Settings > About phone (Samsung US and UK). It reads SM-A576B, SM-A376E and so on. The model number is also on the box label. Compare it with the table above.
- Look for Add eSIM. Open Settings > Connections > SIM manager. If Add eSIM is there, your unit has the chip. If you only see your nano-SIM slots, it does not.
- Find the EID. Samsung UK says the EID is “on the box of your smartphone or in Settings > About phone > Status”. A phone without eSIM has no EID. Dialling *#06# shows the IMEI and serial number; Samsung does not say it shows the EID. Our EID guide has more ways.
- Check the carrier lock. A phone locked to a carrier can hide eSIM. Ask the carrier, or see do you need an unlocked phone.
Our free app reads the eSIM chip directly and gives you the answer for your unit in seconds; the Galaxy A series page summarises the list.
eSIM plus nano-SIM: dual SIM on a Galaxy A
On the models with eSIM, Samsung's spec pages describe the combinations: the A57, A37, A56 and the eSIM version of the A36 list “SIM 1 + SIM 2 / SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM”. So you can keep your home SIM in the slot and add a travel eSIM, or run two eSIMs. The Japanese A57 lists “SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM”. Samsung US calls the North American A models “Hybrid eSIM”: one physical SIM plus one eSIM.
How many profiles can you store? Samsung's Gulf support page says a Galaxy “can download up to 20 eSIM profiles”, fewer if the profiles are large, and that this is “distinct from the number of eSIMs that can be opened”. Samsung does not publish a separate figure per Galaxy A model.
To add an eSIM, from Samsung's UK instructions: Settings > Connections > SIM manager > Add eSIM > Scan QR code, or tap Enter activation code if your carrier gave you a code. To move your current line, tap the SIM in SIM manager, then Convert to eSIM, if your carrier allows it. Samsung lists EE, O2, Three, Vodafone and Sky among UK carriers that may support eSIM, and AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon in the US. Step-by-step: convert a physical SIM to eSIM and activate an eSIM on Android. Travelling with two lines? See keep your number abroad.
How we checked
On 27 October 2026 we read Samsung's eSIM device lists for the UK, US, Canada, Germany, France, Spain, Mexico, India, Korea, Japan, Australia, Hong Kong and Taiwan. We then opened the current Galaxy A product pages on Samsung's sites in 14 countries and noted the “SIM size” and “SIM Slot Type” for each model number. Where a model has no product page any more (A55, A35, A54, A16, A15), we say “Samsung does not state it” rather than guess. We used no third-party spec sites. Samsung updates these lists several times a year; if your phone disagrees with this page, trust the SIM manager menu.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the Samsung Galaxy A15 or A12 support eSIM?expand_more
Does the Galaxy A55 support eSIM?expand_more
Do the Galaxy A57 and A37 support eSIM?expand_more
Do the Galaxy A16, A17, A26 and A27 support eSIM?expand_more
Does the Galaxy A36 support eSIM?expand_more
Does the Galaxy XCover6 Pro support eSIM?expand_more
Check your own phone in seconds
The free eSIM Check app reads your device's real hardware capabilities — no guesswork.
Get it on Google Play